August 10, 2018

Canadian Doubles Horseshoe Pitching Champions through the years

While the first Canadian singles championship was held in 1929, the first Canadian championships,

doubles only, were held in 1927! The doubles were very popular and were held every year during

the "Royal Winter Fair era" of the Canadians (i.e.: 1927 to 1938). There was also a County and Rural Doubles championship, regrouping the winners of various County Fair

horseshoe competitions. That competition was started in 1928 and continued up to 1932.

The doubles were revived in the 1950s but for some of those years (like 1957 and 1958),

they involved only players who failed to qualify for the top singles classes.

Canadian Doubles Champions

1927	Bill Struthers & Walter Kane, Sarnia
1928	Norm Brown & William Coulter, Toronto
1929	John Riley & Stan Riley, Christiana
1930	Bill Struthers & Tom Buckingham, Sarnia
1931	Fred Harburn & Paul Boa, Hensall
1932	George Walwin, Whitby & Joseph Golden, Mt Dennis
1933	George Walwin, Whitby & Joseph Golden, Mt Dennis
1934	George Craggs & James Daniels, Toronto
1935	no tournament
1936	record missing
1937	record missing
1938	George Craggs & Joe Jeffries, Toronto
1951	Stan Woodward & ???, Toronto
1954	Harold Blackman & Cecil Shields, East York
1955	record missing
1956	Dean McLaughlin, Oshawa & Harvey Clendenning, Stouffvil
1957	Ed Willis, Lorne Park & Richard Mathias, Port Credit
1958	John Karges, Kitchener & Mr Wrightsen, Kitchener

Canadian "County and Rural" Doubles Champions

1928	Herbert A. Howson & Sellew S. Kent, London, Ont.
1929	Norman Brown & William Coulter, Toronto, Ont.
1930	Harley G. Brady & E.S. Brady, Fenwick, Ont.
1931	Fred Harburn & Paul Boa, Hensall